An engraving of Hastings Castle by Page, published in Picturesque Views of the Antiquities of England & Wales, 1786. ESRO, PDA H41
After the Conquest, Sussex was divided into administrative areas called rapes. There were three in East Sussex – Hastings, Pevensey and Lewes – and each one was granted to a major supporter. The count of Eu became the lord of Hastings Rape, the count of Mortain of Pevensey Rape and William de Warenne of Lewes Rape.
The town was held by Robert Count of Eu, who built a stone castle in Hastings as the principle town of the rape.
Interior of Hastings Castle, drawn from nature on stone by G Rowe, printed by P Simonau, c 19th century. ESRO, PDA H45a